A Week In Darts - Price & Chizzy Share ProTour Titles

Price & Chizzy Share ProTour Titles

Alex Moss |

A Week In Darts – November 7, 2023 – Price & Chisnall Win Last ProTour Titles Of The Season

The 2023 PDC ProTour reached its conclusion with players battling for spots in the PDC World Championship and the Players Championship Finals. Elsewhere, the draw for Lakeside was also made and Fallon Sherrock received her MBE at Windsor Castle. Here’s our recap of the last seven days in the darting world…


Gerwyn Price and Dave Chisnall won the last two Players Championship titles of 2023 as the PDC ProTour season concluded in Barnsley last week.

On Wednesday, ‘The Iceman’ returned to winning ways with an 8-3 victory over Chisnall in the Players Championship 29 final to clinch his fourth floor title of the season.

The decider saw Chisnall punish a slow start from Price to open up a 2-0 lead, but crucially miss six darts for a 3-0 advantage, which ultimately proved decisive.

Price responded with a 170 checkout and back-to-back 11-dart legs to move 5-3 in front, before the Welshman wrapped up the title with two 15 darters and a 105 finish to complete an 8-3 win.

“I was going to take these two days off, but I wanted to punish myself,” said Price, who had let a 7-0 lead slip to lose to Danny Noppert in the recent European Championship.

“It’s not easy when you’re playing in all the big tournaments and you’re trying to pick and choose your events. When you do turn up you’re under pressure, but thankfully I did the business today.”

The following day saw Chisnall go one better as he saw off Jim Williams 8-4 to win Players Championship 30 and claim his fifth ranking title of the year.

‘Chizzy’ scooped the £12,000 top prize as a devastating six-leg burst saw him take a 6-1 lead in the final, with a 167 checkout and a seventh 180 helping him close out the victory.

“I’m playing some good darts,” Chisnall said. “I think I played better yesterday than I did today, but luckily for me I got away with a few games early on and did the job.

“If I can keep winning these, it keeps me up the rankings. If I put some time in, I’ll definitely be better.”

Following the final two Players Championship events of the year, the field and draw for the Players Championship Finals was also confirmed.

The top 64 players on the Players Championship Order of Merit have qualified for the £600,000 tournament, which takes place at Butlin’s Minehead from November 24-26.

Peter Wright, the recent winner of the European Championship, and World Matchplay champion Nathan Aspinall are two of the high-profile absentees from the line up, having both finished outside the qualification places.


The draw for the upcoming Grand Slam of Darts was confirmed on Monday with defending champion Michael Smith set to take on James Wade, Krzysztof Ratajski and Nathan Girvan in the group stage.

Smith won his first PDC major title in last year’s staging of the Grand Slam, before going on to win the PDC World Championship two months later to move to the top of the world rankings.

‘Bully Boy’ returns to the WV Active Aldersley in Wolverhampton for his title defense this weekend, with 32 players competing for the Eric Bristow Trophy and the £150,000 top prize.

The draw has conjured up several exciting groups with Group B featuring Jonny Clayton, Chris Dobey, Josh Rock and Berry van Peer.

Group G includes former world champions Michael van Gerwen and Rob Cross alongside Fallon Sherrock and Martijn Kleermaker, while Group H will see Nathan Aspinall, Damon Heta, Ricardo Pietreczko and Beau Greaves all facing off.

Check out our 2023 Grand Slam of Darts collection and support your favorite player in this year’s tournament!


Neil Duff will begin the defense of his WDF World Championship title against either Moreno Blom or Gabor Takacs, as the draw for Lakeside was revealed last week.

The nine-day event will once again take place at the Lakeside Country Club, in Frimley Green, often referred to as ‘The Home of World Darts’, from December 2-9.

Northern Ireland’s Duff became a world champion back in April 2022 and returns to try and join a short list of players to win back-to-back men’s titles at the Lakeside.

The 2006 world champion Jelle Klaasen is set to face Laszlo Kadar or Edwin Torbjörnsson, while the top seed Andy Baetens goes up against Scott Marsh or Sebastian Bialecki.

Meanwhile, Beau Greaves opens up the defense of the WDF Women’s World Championship against either Lorraine Hyde or Laura Turner.

Lisa Ashton makes her return to the tournament for the first time since 2020 and will take on either Kym Mitchell or Priscilla Steenbergen.

Elsewhere, Fallon Sherrock received her MBE from the Prince of Wales at Windsor Castle on Wednesday last week.

The 29-year-old was recognized for her services to darts in the 2023 King’s Birthday Honors List, becoming the latest darts star to be awarded an MBE, following in the footsteps of Eric Bristow, John Lowe and Trina Gulliver.

“This means a lot,” Sherrock said. “I was so proud for myself and darts to meet the Prince of Wales and to receive my MBE from him.

“I have never been so nervous! Thank you to everyone who has helped me get to where I am. I’m very, very happy.”

Choose Your Location

Confirm Location