Greaves & Sherrock Win At The Grand Slam

Greaves & Sherrock Win At The Grand Slam

Alex Moss |

A Week In Darts – November 13, 2023 – Greaves & Sherrock Create History At The Grand Slam

It was another landmark day for the ladies game on Sunday as Beau Greaves and Fallon Sherrock both claimed victories in the Grand Slam of Darts. Here’s our look back at the opening weekend of action in Wolverhampton and everything else that happened in the last week in darts…


Beau Greaves and Fallon Sherrock created history at the Grand Slam of Darts on Sunday, as both players won their second group matches in Wolverhampton.

Reigning Women’s World Matchplay champion Greaves saw off Ricardo Pietreczko 5-1, while former Grand Slam quarter-finalist Sherrock edged past Martijn Kleermaker 5-4.

It was the first time that two ladies have won a match on the same day in a PDC major televised event, with both Greaves and Sherrock now heading into straight shootouts in their last group games for qualification to the knockout stage.

On an action-packed weekend at the WV Active Aldersley venue, which saw 32 matches take place across four sessions, several players have already booked their spots in the second round.

The 2022 PDC world youth champion Josh Rock, who famously hit a nine darter on his debut appearance in the Grand Slam last year, secured his place in the last 16 with wins over Chris Dobey and Jonny Clayton.

Three-time Grand Slam winners Michael van Gerwen and Gerwyn Price are also through to the knockout stage with a game to spare, along with the World Matchplay champion Nathan Aspinall and World Grand Prix holder Luke Humphries.

American debutant Stowe Buntz is also assured of a place in the next round after impressing with wins against both Peter Wright and Stephen Bunting, which included a 102.28 average in beating the newly-crowned European champion Wright on Saturday night.

The group stage concludes over the next two nights with the last matches in Groups A-D taking place tonight, featuring two winner-takes-all clashes. Clayton and Dobey face off in Group B for a spot in the knockout stage, whilst Nathan Rafferty and Ryan Searle also meet with a place in the last 16 up for grabs.

Shop our Grand Slam of Darts Players Collection to support your favorite players during the tournament.


Shane McGuirk won through a field of more than 500 players to be crowned Irish Open champion and qualify for the 2024 WDF World Championships.

The Irishman, who is based in Monaghan, beat Scotland’s Ryan Hogarth 6-2 in Saturday night’s final to win the WDF-ranked gold event at the Gleneagle Hotel, in Killarney.

McGuirk told the Irish Mirror: “To be Irish Open champion is something I’ll take with me forever and will never forget it.

“Everything clicked for me this weekend and it’s the best darting weekend of my life.”

Elsewhere, Aileen de Graaf won the Irish Open ladies event with a 5-3 victory over Rhian O’Sullivan in the decider.

De Graaf had already qualified for next year’s Lakeside after winning the Dutch Open in January, with this latest tournament success cementing her place at number two in the women’s world rankings.

O’Sullivan also added to her haul of titles with a victory in the Irish Classic, whitewashing Aletta Wajer 5-0 in the final. Hong Kong’s Kai Fan Leung took the men’s Classic crown, seeing off Michael Flynn 5-3 in the decider.


Dragutin Horvat became the latest international qualifier for the upcoming PDC World Championship after winning the PDC Europe Super League on Friday night.

The 47-year-old stormed to a second Super League title after beating Pascal Rupprecht 8-3 in the decider in Bitburg.

The 2016 champion, who made his debut at Alexandra Palace seven years ago, will return to the biggest tournament in darts next month after battling through a 16-player field of German players last week.

Only six spots are left to be decided for the World Championship, with the West Europe (November 18) and East Europe (November 25) qualifiers being held over the next two weekends, before the last four places are decided at the PDC Tour Card Holder qualifiers on November 27.

Choose Your Location

Confirm Location